Select any of the Watershed Council links below to explore each area of the county. Review past presentations and minutes for up to date information on current Watershed Council and Conservation District projects.

The map to the right shows all watershed boundaries in the County.

Watershed Boundaries

   2325 River Road Suite 3 The Dalles, OR 97058 Phone: (541)296-6178 x102 Watershed Coordinator Abbie Forrest abigail.forrest@or.nacdnet.net



Grant Programs

Contact Us

Watershed Councils

wc_website003008.jpg wc_website003007.jpg wc_website003006.jpg wc_website003005.jpg wc_website003004.jpg wc_website003003.jpg
Mosier Watershed Council
The Dalles Watershed Council
Fifteenmile Watershed Council
White River Watershed Council
Bakeoven/Buck Hollow Watershed Council
Click the map to the right to view the Wasco County Watershed Councils Coordinating Board page.
The combined Local Councils cover drainages that flow directly into the Columbia River between Mosier and The Dalles Dam, including Rock, Mosier, Rowena, Chenoweth, Mill, and Fifteenmile Creeks. The area also covers two key drainages to the lower Deschutes River, White River, and Bakeoven/Buck Hollow Creeks. The combined watersheds cover a diverse landscape of more than 861,000 acres, including over one thousand miles of fish-bearing streams and associated riparian and floodplain habitats, and upland areas. The Local Councils play a critical role in maintaining and restoring fish and wildlife populations, improving water quality, and enhancing stream and upland habitats in these watersheds.
Double-click here to edit the text.
49,725 acres encompasses all land drained by Mosier, Rock, and Rowena Creeks and their tributaries, all three of which discharge into the Columbia River. Associated lands that drain directly to the Columbia River are also included in the area.
82,219 acres covers all lands draining to the Columbia River between River Mile 180 to RM 191. These drainages include Threemile, Dry Hollow, Mill, Chenowith, Browns, and Hidden Valley Creeks, as well as lands draining to the Columbia River as far west as Rowena Overlook.
(235,341 acres) encompasses the Fifteenmile Watershed, which includes all lands drained by Fifteenmile Creek. Fifteenmile Creek discharges into the Columbia River just downstream of the Dalles Dam. Major tributaries to Fifteenmile Creek include Fivemile, Eightmile, Ramsey, Pine, and Dry Creeks.
(349,414 acres) includes the White River Watershed and its tributaries. The White River flows generally east from the slopes of Mt. Hood to enter the Deschutes River at RM 47.5. Key tributaries include Jordan, Tygh, Badger, Threemile, Clear, and Rock Creeks. The Councilís area also includes closely associated small drainages to the south of White River that drain from the west into the Deschutes River, including Spring, Wapinitia, and Nena Creeks.
(145,017 acres) covers Bakeoven Creek and its tributaries and also includes the portion of Buck Hollow Watershed that is within Wasco County. Bakeoven Creek flows generally west into the Deschutes River at Maupin (RM 51). Key tributaries include Trail Hollow, Bootman, Robin, Deep,